The interview

10 Apr

I’m counting my chickens right now.  Fuck waiting until they hatch, I have something in my spirit telling me this could be it if I dedicate myself to this. Trust me; jumping the gun and having oblivious faith is not something I do on a regular basis. I decided I am going to start owning my destiny. I need to claim MY success. I want to be a businesswoman and I want to be able to support myself and my daughter.  I am going to do this by aligning myself with like-minded individuals who have a good understanding of what it is I am trying to do with myself and in order for that to happen I need to be more selfish with my time and resources. The people are interviewed are a male and female team, barber and cosmetologist and co-own a salon in Alpharetta. Both of extensive experience and knowledge that you can only gain from the time spent perfecting their craft. I really hope I left a positive impression on them. I really want this for myself. I have nothing to lose and everything to gain. My mind has an outline of specifically want I want to be doing.

By 25, I will be finishing my apprenticeship and building a clientele of repeat customers, in the meantime I would like to use my social networking knowledge to promote myself and maybe like Celebrity Seaborn, carve out a niche online. Besides, the friends I thought I had could care less and only want to come around when I have something to give and well right now all I am interested in is bettering myself and getting off probation. I can do that by staying out of trouble and focusing on my goal. Everybody has nasty things to say to deter me but I don’t care anymore. There’s nothing anyone can say to me at this point that I haven’t already heard or even thought of myself in the pits of my own despair. Words are just that words, I won’t give them weight. I am not dead and I am not old so it’s definitely not a wrap for me. Anyone who can’t get with my new program really can hit the fade at this point. I have helped to people reach their full potential time to reach my own.

Needless to say, my interview went EXTREMELY well. My future instructors seem genuine, compassionate and understanding of what it is I want for myself. I mentioned in the interview that the last two salons I interviewed with seemed more interested in making money off me than making me an exceptional cosmetologist. What I want for myself is not much to most people but the idea of expanding and gaining an expertise is very enticing.  The beauty industry is never going away, it is up to me to be competitive and make my own lane. I know that it will not be easy after all, 2 years of being an apprentice is a long time but I am prepared to put in the time and hopefully gained some new allies in the process.  We spoke over an hour about the pitfalls as well as the benefits of being an apprentice. The funny thing is they asked my zodiac sign and it was a little concerning because they were both Virgos. 

Leave a Reply

